Hosting · working at 10,000 users · rates as read 26 Sept 2026
On free tier, Netlify is $0 forever and Railway does not publish it. On cheapest paid plan, Netlify is $9 /month (Personal) and Railway is $ 5 minimum usage (Hobby). On rate above what's included, Netlify is $5 / 500 additional credits on Personal, $10 / 1,500 on Pro and Railway is $ 0.05 per GB for services (egress). StackTab sells neither of these and takes no referral fee on either: it scores them. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-18; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
2 compared · 3 criteria, identical for every column · every competitor figure read off that company's own page · last verified 2026-09-18
| Service | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| NetlifyThe other Jamstack host, priced per member rather than per project.verified 25 Sept 2026netlify.com/pricing | $ | $ | price not publishedPro |
| RailwayContainers billed by the second, with a database next to them.verified 25 Sept 2026railway.com/pricing | $ | $ | $ |
- Sorted by the total at
- The other Jamstack host, priced per member rather than per project.verified 25 Sept 2026netlify.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
00 Free - 10,000 users
- $
2020 Pro - 100,000 users
- price not publishedPro
- Containers billed by the second, with a database next to them.verified 25 Sept 2026railway.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
2121 Hobby - 10,000 users
- $
3131 Hobby - 100,000 users
- $
128128 Hobby
| Criterion | Netlify | Railway |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | $0 foreverUnlimited Git contributors on public repositories. | Not publishedRailway publishes no free plan. The cheapest entry is a 30-day trial with $5 of credits, "then $1 per month". |
| Cheapest paid plan | $9 /month (Personal)$9/month covers one member. Pro is $20 /month and covers unlimited members, which is where the arithmetic against a per-seat platform changes. | $ 5 minimum usage (Hobby)The $5 is a minimum spend that includes $5 of usage credit rather than a fee on top of usage. Pro is $ 20 minimum usage. |
| Rate above what's included | $5 / 500 additional credits on Personal, $10 / 1,500 on ProNetlify meters in credits rather than in gigabytes and invocations, so the two platforms' overage lines are not directly comparable without converting. | $ 0.05 per GB for services (egress)Compute is billed by the second: $ 0.00000386 per GB/sec of memory and $ 0.00000772 per vCPU/sec. |
“Not published” means that company does not state the figure on the page cited at the foot of this page. It is not a claim that no such figure exists. A company that publishes no limit most likely has none, but “most likely” is not a fact, and this table prints what was read rather than what was inferred.
- Free tier: what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words
- Rate above what's included: the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one
Netlify: $0 forever. Unlimited Git contributors on public repositories. Railway does not state it on railway.com. Railway publishes no free plan. The cheapest entry is a 30-day trial with $5 of credits, "then $1 per month". Read from netlify.com and railway.com on 2026-09-18. Free tier here means what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words.
Netlify: $9 /month (Personal). $9/month covers one member. Pro is $20 /month and covers unlimited members, which is where the arithmetic against a per-seat platform changes. Railway: $ 5 minimum usage (Hobby). The $5 is a minimum spend that includes $5 of usage credit rather than a fee on top of usage. Pro is $ 20 minimum usage. Read from netlify.com and railway.com on 2026-09-18.
Netlify: $5 / 500 additional credits on Personal, $10 / 1,500 on Pro. Netlify meters in credits rather than in gigabytes and invocations, so the two platforms' overage lines are not directly comparable without converting. Railway: $ 0.05 per GB for services (egress). Compute is billed by the second: $ 0.00000386 per GB/sec of memory and $ 0.00000772 per vCPU/sec. Read from netlify.com and railway.com on 2026-09-18. Rate above what's included here means the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one.
Netlify: The team is larger than the site. Netlify's Pro plan is $20 /month for unlimited members where per-seat platforms bill each one, so a marketing site maintained by eight people costs a fraction of what the same site costs elsewhere. Railway: You need a long-running process rather than a request handler: a queue worker, a websocket server, a cron that actually runs for ten minutes. Railway bills compute by the second, so an app that is busy in bursts costs what it used, and it will host the database next to it on the same bill.
StackTab does not sell any of these and has nothing to gain from which one you choose: it scores them. Each case below is the one that option genuinely wins.
- Netlify: The team is larger than the site. Netlify's Pro plan is $20 /month for unlimited members where per-seat platforms bill each one, so a marketing site maintained by eight people costs a fraction of what the same site costs elsewhere.
- Railway: You need a long-running process rather than a request handler: a queue worker, a websocket server, a cron that actually runs for ten minutes. Railway bills compute by the second, so an app that is busy in bursts costs what it used, and it will host the database next to it on the same bill.
Prices and limits move, and a page quoting a stale one is worth less than a page quoting none. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it against the day they are reading this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.
- Netlify: www.netlify.com/pricing/: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-18.
- Railway: railway.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-18.
Last verified 2026-09-18. https://stacktab.thecompound.tech/compare/netlify-vs-railway