Auth · working at 10,000 users · rates as read 27 Sept 2026
On free tier, Auth0 is $0: up to 25,000 monthly active users and Better Auth is $0: the framework is free and open source. On cheapest paid plan, Auth0 is $ 35 / month (Essentials) and Better Auth is $20 / month (Pro). On rate above what's included, Auth0 does not publish it and Better Auth is $0.0001 per audit-log event, $0.001 per security detection, $50/month per SSO connection. StackTab sells neither of these and takes no referral fee on either: it scores them. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-18; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
2 compared · 3 criteria, identical for every column · every competitor figure read off that company's own page · last verified 2026-09-18
| Service | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Auth0The incumbent identity platform, now inside Okta.verified 26 Sept 2026auth0.com/pricing | $ | $ | price not publishedProfessional |
| Better AuthOpen-source TypeScript auth that runs inside your own app and database.verified 26 Sept 2026better-auth.com/docs/introduction | $ | $ | $ |
- Sorted by the total at
- The incumbent identity platform, now inside Okta.verified 26 Sept 2026auth0.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
00 Free - 10,000 users
- $
00 Free - 100,000 users
- price not publishedProfessional
- Open-source TypeScript auth that runs inside your own app and database.verified 26 Sept 2026better-auth.com/docs/introduction
- 1,000 users
- $
00 Self-hosted - 10,000 users
- $
00 Self-hosted - 100,000 users
- $
00 Self-hosted
| Criterion | Auth0 | Better Auth |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | $0: up to 25,000 monthly active usersThe largest free allowance of the hosted options here, and it includes one enterprise connection and self-service SSO. | $0: the framework is free and open sourceThe library carries no bill at all; the managed Starter tier for the dashboard and audit logs is also $0/month. |
| Cheapest paid plan | $ 35 / month (Essentials)The $35 is the base at 500 monthly active users, not at 25,000. | $20 / month (Pro)That buys the managed infrastructure: dashboard, audit logs, security detections, self-service SSO. The framework stays free whether or not you take it. |
| Rate above what's included | Not publishedAbove 500 monthly active users the price comes from a slider widget on the pricing page rather than a published table, so the page carries no per-user rate to multiply out. Professional is listed at $ 240 / month, again at 500 monthly active users. | $0.0001 per audit-log event, $0.001 per security detection, $50/month per SSO connectionOnly on the managed infrastructure. Run the library yourself and there is no meter: the users sit in the database you are already paying for. |
“Not published” means that company does not state the figure on the page cited at the foot of this page. It is not a claim that no such figure exists. A company that publishes no limit most likely has none, but “most likely” is not a fact, and this table prints what was read rather than what was inferred.
- Free tier: what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words
- Rate above what's included: the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one
Auth0: $0: up to 25,000 monthly active users. The largest free allowance of the hosted options here, and it includes one enterprise connection and self-service SSO. Better Auth: $0: the framework is free and open source. The library carries no bill at all; the managed Starter tier for the dashboard and audit logs is also $0/month. Read from auth0.com and better-auth.com on 2026-09-18. Free tier here means what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words.
Auth0: $ 35 / month (Essentials). The $35 is the base at 500 monthly active users, not at 25,000. Better Auth: $20 / month (Pro). That buys the managed infrastructure: dashboard, audit logs, security detections, self-service SSO. The framework stays free whether or not you take it. Read from auth0.com and better-auth.com on 2026-09-18.
Auth0 does not state it on auth0.com. Above 500 monthly active users the price comes from a slider widget on the pricing page rather than a published table, so the page carries no per-user rate to multiply out. Professional is listed at $ 240 / month, again at 500 monthly active users. Better Auth: $0.0001 per audit-log event, $0.001 per security detection, $50/month per SSO connection. Only on the managed infrastructure. Run the library yourself and there is no meter: the users sit in the database you are already paying for. Read from auth0.com and better-auth.com on 2026-09-18. Rate above what's included here means the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one.
Auth0: Your buyers already live inside Okta. Auth0 is Okta's developer product, the integration story between them is the reason to pick it, and its free tier is the largest here at 25,000 monthly active users with an enterprise connection included. Better Auth: You want the user table in your own database and no auth line on the bill. Better Auth is a TypeScript library rather than a service, so the cost of authentication becomes a few more rows in the Postgres you already run, and you carry the maintenance that a hosted provider would have carried.
StackTab does not sell any of these and has nothing to gain from which one you choose: it scores them. Each case below is the one that option genuinely wins.
- Auth0: Your buyers already live inside Okta. Auth0 is Okta's developer product, the integration story between them is the reason to pick it, and its free tier is the largest here at 25,000 monthly active users with an enterprise connection included.
- Better Auth: You want the user table in your own database and no auth line on the bill. Better Auth is a TypeScript library rather than a service, so the cost of authentication becomes a few more rows in the Postgres you already run, and you carry the maintenance that a hosted provider would have carried.
Prices and limits move, and a page quoting a stale one is worth less than a page quoting none. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it against the day they are reading this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.
- Auth0: auth0.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-18.
- Better Auth: www.better-auth.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-18.
Last verified 2026-09-18. https://stacktab.thecompound.tech/compare/auth0-vs-better-auth