Auth · working at 10,000 users · rates as read 24 Sept 2026
On free tier, Auth0 is $0: up to 25,000 monthly active users and WorkOS is $0: up to 1 million users. On cheapest paid plan, Auth0 is $ 35 / month (Essentials) and WorkOS is $125 / ea per enterprise connection. On rate above what's included, Auth0 does not publish it and WorkOS is $2,500 / mo per additional million users. StackTab sells neither of these and takes no referral fee on either: it scores them. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-18; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
2 compared · 3 criteria, identical for every column · every competitor figure read off that company's own page · last verified 2026-09-18
| Service | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Auth0The incumbent identity platform, now inside Okta.verified 24 Sept 2026auth0.com/pricing | $ | $ | price not publishedProfessional |
| WorkOSAuthKit free to a million users; the money is in SSO and Directory Sync.verified 24 Sept 2026workos.com/pricing | $ | $ | $ |
- Sorted by the total at
- The incumbent identity platform, now inside Okta.verified 24 Sept 2026auth0.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
00 Free - 10,000 users
- $
00 Free - 100,000 users
- price not publishedProfessional
- AuthKit free to a million users; the money is in SSO and Directory Sync.verified 24 Sept 2026workos.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
00 AuthKit - 10,000 users
- $
00 AuthKit - 100,000 users
- $
00 AuthKit
| Criterion | Auth0 | WorkOS |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | $0: up to 25,000 monthly active usersThe largest free allowance of the hosted options here, and it includes one enterprise connection and self-service SSO. | $0: up to 1 million usersBy a wide margin the largest free allowance in this table: AuthKit is free to one million users. |
| Cheapest paid plan | $ 35 / month (Essentials)The $35 is the base at 500 monthly active users, not at 25,000. | $125 / ea per enterprise connectionAuthKit itself is free; the money starts at the first SSO connection. Volume steps: 1-15 at $125 each, 16-30 at $100, 31-50 at $80, 51-100 at $65. |
| Rate above what's included | Not publishedAbove 500 monthly active users the price comes from a slider widget on the pricing page rather than a published table, so the page carries no per-user rate to multiply out. Professional is listed at $ 240 / month, again at 500 monthly active users. | $2,500 / mo per additional million usersThe user rate and the connection rate are separate meters, which is what makes the B2B arithmetic predictable. |
“Not published” means that company does not state the figure on the page cited at the foot of this page. It is not a claim that no such figure exists. A company that publishes no limit most likely has none, but “most likely” is not a fact, and this table prints what was read rather than what was inferred.
- Free tier: what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words
- Rate above what's included: the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one
Auth0: $0: up to 25,000 monthly active users. The largest free allowance of the hosted options here, and it includes one enterprise connection and self-service SSO. WorkOS: $0: up to 1 million users. By a wide margin the largest free allowance in this table: AuthKit is free to one million users. Read from auth0.com and workos.com on 2026-09-18. Free tier here means what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words.
Auth0: $ 35 / month (Essentials). The $35 is the base at 500 monthly active users, not at 25,000. WorkOS: $125 / ea per enterprise connection. AuthKit itself is free; the money starts at the first SSO connection. Volume steps: 1-15 at $125 each, 16-30 at $100, 31-50 at $80, 51-100 at $65. Read from auth0.com and workos.com on 2026-09-18.
Auth0 does not state it on auth0.com. Above 500 monthly active users the price comes from a slider widget on the pricing page rather than a published table, so the page carries no per-user rate to multiply out. Professional is listed at $ 240 / month, again at 500 monthly active users. WorkOS: $2,500 / mo per additional million users. The user rate and the connection rate are separate meters, which is what makes the B2B arithmetic predictable. Read from auth0.com and workos.com on 2026-09-18. Rate above what's included here means the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one.
Auth0: Your buyers already live inside Okta. Auth0 is Okta's developer product, the integration story between them is the reason to pick it, and its free tier is the largest here at 25,000 monthly active users with an enterprise connection included. WorkOS: You are selling to companies and someone is going to ask for SAML. WorkOS prices the enterprise connection directly instead of pushing you into a tier that bundles it with things you do not need, and AuthKit is free to a million users, so the bill tracks the number of enterprise customers rather than the number of end users.
StackTab does not sell any of these and has nothing to gain from which one you choose: it scores them. Each case below is the one that option genuinely wins.
- Auth0: Your buyers already live inside Okta. Auth0 is Okta's developer product, the integration story between them is the reason to pick it, and its free tier is the largest here at 25,000 monthly active users with an enterprise connection included.
- WorkOS: You are selling to companies and someone is going to ask for SAML. WorkOS prices the enterprise connection directly instead of pushing you into a tier that bundles it with things you do not need, and AuthKit is free to a million users, so the bill tracks the number of enterprise customers rather than the number of end users.
Prices and limits move, and a page quoting a stale one is worth less than a page quoting none. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it against the day they are reading this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.
- Auth0: auth0.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-18.
- WorkOS: workos.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-18.
Last verified 2026-09-18. https://stacktab.thecompound.tech/compare/auth0-vs-workos