Payments · working at 10,000 users · rates as read 30 Sept 2026
On free tier, Stripe is $0/month: 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card charge and Gumroad is $0/month: 10% + $0.50 per transaction. On cheapest paid plan, Stripe does not publish it and Gumroad does not publish it. On rate above what's included, Stripe is +1.5% for international cards, +1% if currency conversion is required, +0.5% for manually entered cards and Gumroad is 30% on sales Gumroad sources through its own Discover marketplace. StackTab sells neither of these and takes no referral fee on either: it scores them. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-28; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
2 compared · 3 criteria, identical for every column · every competitor figure read off that company's own page · last verified 2026-09-28
| Service | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| StripeThe default PSP. You stay the merchant, so sales tax and VAT stay yours.verified 28 Sept 2026stripe.com/pricing | $ | $ | $ |
| GumroadMerchant of record with a storefront attached, at a flat 10%.verified 28 Sept 2026gumroad.com/pricing | $ | $ | $ |
- Sorted by the total at
- The default PSP. You stay the merchant, so sales tax and VAT stay yours.verified 28 Sept 2026stripe.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
2121 Standard - 10,000 users
- $
214214 Standard - 100,000 users
- $
2,1402,140 Standard
- Merchant of record with a storefront attached, at a flat 10%.verified 28 Sept 2026gumroad.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
5050 Standard - 10,000 users
- $
500500 Standard - 100,000 users
- $
5,0005,000 Standard
| Criterion | Stripe | Gumroad |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | $0/month: 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card charge"No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees." The cost is entirely in the rate. | $0/month: 10% + $0.50 per transaction"No hidden fees, no monthly charges." It is by some distance the highest rate in this table. |
| Cheapest paid plan | Not publishedStripe publishes one standard rate rather than a ladder of paid tiers; the page offers "Custom: design a custom package" for businesses with large payments volume, without a figure. | Not publishedGumroad publishes no paid plans at all: the whole model is the percentage. |
| Rate above what's included | +1.5% for international cards, +1% if currency conversion is required, +0.5% for manually entered cardsThe headline 2.9% + 30¢ is the domestic-card floor. Every one of these surcharges is published as a number, which is the reason the arithmetic on this page works at all. | 30% on sales Gumroad sources through its own Discover marketplaceTwo different rates depending on where the customer came from: 10% + $0.50 through your own profile or links, 30% when Gumroad's marketplace found the buyer. |
“Not published” means that company does not state the figure on the page cited at the foot of this page. It is not a claim that no such figure exists. A company that publishes no limit most likely has none, but “most likely” is not a fact, and this table prints what was read rather than what was inferred.
- Free tier: what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words
- Rate above what's included: the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one
Stripe: $0/month: 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card charge. "No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees." The cost is entirely in the rate. Gumroad: $0/month: 10% + $0.50 per transaction. "No hidden fees, no monthly charges." It is by some distance the highest rate in this table. Read from stripe.com and gumroad.com on 2026-09-28. Free tier here means what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words.
Stripe does not state it on stripe.com. Stripe publishes one standard rate rather than a ladder of paid tiers; the page offers "Custom: design a custom package" for businesses with large payments volume, without a figure. Gumroad does not state it on gumroad.com. Gumroad publishes no paid plans at all: the whole model is the percentage. Read from stripe.com and gumroad.com on 2026-09-28.
Stripe: +1.5% for international cards, +1% if currency conversion is required, +0.5% for manually entered cards. The headline 2.9% + 30¢ is the domestic-card floor. Every one of these surcharges is published as a number, which is the reason the arithmetic on this page works at all. Gumroad: 30% on sales Gumroad sources through its own Discover marketplace. Two different rates depending on where the customer came from: 10% + $0.50 through your own profile or links, 30% when Gumroad's marketplace found the buyer. Read from stripe.com and gumroad.com on 2026-09-28. Rate above what's included here means the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one.
Stripe: Your customers are in the United States and will be for a while. Sales tax in a handful of states is a much smaller job than global VAT, Stripe is two points cheaper than every merchant of record here, and two points on real revenue is real money. Gumroad: You have no audience and you want one. Gumroad is the only option here with a marketplace that will actively find buyers for you, and the 30% it takes on those sales is a customer-acquisition cost rather than a payment fee: which is a reasonable trade when the alternative is no sale.
StackTab does not sell any of these and has nothing to gain from which one you choose: it scores them. Each case below is the one that option genuinely wins.
- Stripe: Your customers are in the United States and will be for a while. Sales tax in a handful of states is a much smaller job than global VAT, Stripe is two points cheaper than every merchant of record here, and two points on real revenue is real money.
- Gumroad: You have no audience and you want one. Gumroad is the only option here with a marketplace that will actively find buyers for you, and the 30% it takes on those sales is a customer-acquisition cost rather than a payment fee: which is a reasonable trade when the alternative is no sale.
Prices and limits move, and a page quoting a stale one is worth less than a page quoting none. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it against the day they are reading this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.
- Stripe: stripe.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-28.
- Gumroad: gumroad.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-28.
Last verified 2026-09-28. https://stacktab.thecompound.tech/compare/stripe-vs-gumroad