Payments · working at 10,000 users · rates as read 29 Sept 2026
On free tier, Stripe is $0/month: 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card charge and Dodo Payments is $0/month: 4% + 40¢ per transaction. On cheapest paid plan, Stripe does not publish it and Dodo Payments does not publish it. On rate above what's included, Stripe is +1.5% for international cards, +1% if currency conversion is required, +0.5% for manually entered cards and Dodo Payments is +1.5% for international cards; $30 per dispute. StackTab sells neither of these and takes no referral fee on either: it scores them. Every figure was read off the named company's own page on or since 2026-09-28; the URLs and the dates are at the foot of this page, and a job re-fetches each one on a schedule and fails when a figure is no longer on the page it came from.
2 compared · 3 criteria, identical for every column · every competitor figure read off that company's own page · last verified 2026-09-28
| Service | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| StripeThe default PSP. You stay the merchant, so sales tax and VAT stay yours.verified 21 Sept 2026stripe.com/pricing | $ | $ | $ |
| Dodo PaymentsMerchant of record covering 220+ countries at 4% + 40¢.verified 21 Sept 2026dodopayments.com/pricing | $ | $ | $ |
- Sorted by the total at
- The default PSP. You stay the merchant, so sales tax and VAT stay yours.verified 21 Sept 2026stripe.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
2121 Standard - 10,000 users
- $
214214 Standard - 100,000 users
- $
2,1402,140 Standard
- Merchant of record covering 220+ countries at 4% + 40¢.verified 21 Sept 2026dodopayments.com/pricing
- 1,000 users
- $
2626 Standard - 10,000 users
- $
258258 Standard - 100,000 users
- $
2,5802,580 Standard
| Criterion | Stripe | Dodo Payments |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | $0/month: 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card charge"No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees." The cost is entirely in the rate. | $0/month: 4% + 40¢ per transactionNo monthly fee. |
| Cheapest paid plan | Not publishedStripe publishes one standard rate rather than a ladder of paid tiers; the page offers "Custom: design a custom package" for businesses with large payments volume, without a figure. | Not publishedOne published rate; no paid tiers above it. |
| Rate above what's included | +1.5% for international cards, +1% if currency conversion is required, +0.5% for manually entered cardsThe headline 2.9% + 30¢ is the domestic-card floor. Every one of these surcharges is published as a number, which is the reason the arithmetic on this page works at all. | +1.5% for international cards; $30 per disputeThe dispute fee is worth reading before the headline rate: it is charged per dispute regardless of outcome, and it is double Polar's $15. |
“Not published” means that company does not state the figure on the page cited at the foot of this page. It is not a claim that no such figure exists. A company that publishes no limit most likely has none, but “most likely” is not a fact, and this table prints what was read rather than what was inferred.
- Free tier: what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words
- Rate above what's included: the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one
Stripe: $0/month: 2.9% + 30¢ per successful domestic card charge. "No setup fees, monthly fees, or hidden fees." The cost is entirely in the rate. Dodo Payments: $0/month: 4% + 40¢ per transaction. No monthly fee. Read from stripe.com and dodopayments.com on 2026-09-28. Free tier here means what the vendor gives you at $0 a month, in its own words.
Stripe does not state it on stripe.com. Stripe publishes one standard rate rather than a ladder of paid tiers; the page offers "Custom: design a custom package" for businesses with large payments volume, without a figure. Dodo Payments does not state it on dodopayments.com. One published rate; no paid tiers above it. Read from stripe.com and dodopayments.com on 2026-09-28.
Stripe: +1.5% for international cards, +1% if currency conversion is required, +0.5% for manually entered cards. The headline 2.9% + 30¢ is the domestic-card floor. Every one of these surcharges is published as a number, which is the reason the arithmetic on this page works at all. Dodo Payments: +1.5% for international cards; $30 per dispute. The dispute fee is worth reading before the headline rate: it is charged per dispute regardless of outcome, and it is double Polar's $15. Read from stripe.com and dodopayments.com on 2026-09-28. Rate above what's included here means the per-unit or per-transaction rate the vendor publishes for usage beyond the plan: the figure you need to work out a bill before you commit to one.
Stripe: Your customers are in the United States and will be for a while. Sales tax in a handful of states is a much smaller job than global VAT, Stripe is two points cheaper than every merchant of record here, and two points on real revenue is real money. Dodo Payments: You are selling into markets the bigger merchants of record do not cover well, particularly India and south-east Asia. Dodo is 4% + 40¢ with no monthly fee, a point below Paddle at the same merchant-of-record service, and it publishes both its international surcharge and its dispute fee up front.
StackTab does not sell any of these and has nothing to gain from which one you choose: it scores them. Each case below is the one that option genuinely wins.
- Stripe: Your customers are in the United States and will be for a while. Sales tax in a handful of states is a much smaller job than global VAT, Stripe is two points cheaper than every merchant of record here, and two points on real revenue is real money.
- Dodo Payments: You are selling into markets the bigger merchants of record do not cover well, particularly India and south-east Asia. Dodo is 4% + 40¢ with no monthly fee, a point below Paddle at the same merchant-of-record service, and it publishes both its international surcharge and its dispute fee up front.
Prices and limits move, and a page quoting a stale one is worth less than a page quoting none. Every source is printed here so a reader can check it against the day they are reading this, and a job re-fetches each of these URLs on a schedule and fails when a figure above no longer appears on the page it came from.
- Stripe: stripe.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-28.
- Dodo Payments: dodopayments.com/pricing: Free tier, Cheapest paid plan, Rate above what's included. Read 2026-09-28.
Last verified 2026-09-28. https://stacktab.thecompound.tech/compare/stripe-vs-dodo-payments